DDJ-SB3 Deck 3/4

XML preset files and script files (.js) for MIDI and other controllers.

Moderators: garth, User Customization Moderators

DDJ-SB3 Deck 3/4

Postby butyokkapitany » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:07 pm

Hello Everyone!

I've done some controller mapping/scipting on my Pioneer DDJ-SB3, based on the DDJ-SB2 script. I would say, that 90% of the controls works now as intended (except for some pad controls), but I have no idea how to enable Deck 3 and 4.
As far as my knowledge goes (which is not that much), the controller should send the Deck play,cue etc. signals on Midi Channel 3 and 4 when the Deck button is pressed, but I wasn't able to get any signal from channel 3 and 4. In Serato Lite, the Deck buttons are working as intended (so I can use Deck 3 and 4 inside the software), and they light up. But when Serato is not running, it doesn't even light up when I press them. The buttons themselves are functioning, I checked it with --mididebug, and Shift+Deck4 enables AutoDJ.
-GNU is not UNIX.
-Where does it say that?
-In the name, GNU
User avatar
butyokkapitany
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:31 pm
Location: Pécs, Hungary

Re: DDJ-SB3 Deck 3/4

Postby anaboull » Sun Jan 13, 2019 4:30 pm

hello !
same pb impossible to enable deck 3 & 4 ( C & D)
i try to found it with another controller
if you have some news :) post it :)
anaboull
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:47 pm

Re: DDJ-SB3 Deck 3/4

Postby JosepMa » Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:28 pm

I don't know if it is the case with DDJ-SB3, but some controllers do no have physical changes for decks 3&4, but instead it is simulated in software. If that is the case, decks 3 and 4 would send signals for decks 1 and 2, and the software (the mapping in this case) needs to simulate the change and light the leds accordingly.

Also, I had a controller that allowed to disable decks 3 / 4, or to send them as decks 1 / 2. This was done from the driver control panel.
It might not be related, but it could be that the controller needs a specific message to tell it to allow decks 3 / 4.

I don't have any Pioneer controller, so I can't help.
JosepMa
 
Posts: 709
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 7:02 pm

Re: DDJ-SB3 Deck 3/4

Postby Be. » Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:07 am

butyokkapitany wrote:I wasn't able to get any signal from channel 3 and 4.


How did you determine this? Did you watch the incoming MIDI signals when running Mixxx with the --controllerDebug command line argument? If the controller does change the MIDI channel for decks 3 and 4, you'll need to duplicate all the mappings in the XML file for decks 1 & 2 for decks 3 & 4. (We're working towards removing the need for the XML file, but for now copy & paste then find & replace will have to do.)
I heard FLAC and I haven't gone back.
Protect your hearing with earplugs!

Hear my mixes
User avatar
Be.
Mixxx Developer
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Chicago, USA

Re: DDJ-SB3 Deck 3/4

Postby butyokkapitany » Fri Jan 18, 2019 10:23 am

I checked it with both --controllerdebug and --mididebug, and not a single midi message was on channel 3 or 4. The official Midi mapping pdf file from the Pioneer support site says that its capable of 4 channel mode. The Deck 3/4 buttons doesn't even light up when I send Midi messages to them,so my guess is that it needs a special one to enable them. I was curious and sent a couple of Midi signals to the controller, and some of them triggered functions that I was unable to do in the first place. It needs some further investigations.
-GNU is not UNIX.
-Where does it say that?
-In the name, GNU
User avatar
butyokkapitany
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:31 pm
Location: Pécs, Hungary

Re: DDJ-SB3 Deck 3/4

Postby Be. » Fri Jan 18, 2019 4:54 pm

Pioneer's MIDI documentation says it uses MIDI channels 3 & 4 for decks 3 & 4. As a guess, maybe the computer needs to send the same MIDI message that the controller sends when the deck toggle button is pressed to get the controller firmware to switch modes. You'd probably need to do that anyway to keep the LED for the deck toggle button lit. If that doesn't work, you can do the deck switching in JS even if the MIDI channels stay with just 1 & 2.
I heard FLAC and I haven't gone back.
Protect your hearing with earplugs!

Hear my mixes
User avatar
Be.
Mixxx Developer
 
Posts: 2346
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Chicago, USA

Re: DDJ-SB3 Deck 3/4

Postby kerrick » Sun Feb 24, 2019 7:01 pm

Hey butyokkapitany, could you share your work-in-progress mapping so that others can try it out? I also have a DDJ-SB3 and would like to try MIXXX with it.
kerrick
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 6:58 pm

Re: DDJ-SB3 Deck 3/4

Postby rackelhahn69 » Fri Mar 22, 2019 10:28 am

kerrick wrote:Hey butyokkapitany, could you share your work-in-progress mapping so that others can try it out? I also have a DDJ-SB3 and would like to try MIXXX with it.


I'd really like that as well! I just got one for my birthday but don't really like that i can only use it in Windows sofar...
rackelhahn69
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:41 am

Re: DDJ-SB3 Deck 3/4

Postby Luhxy » Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:09 am

Any update on your map for the SB3? Would love to have it even if it's still WIP.
User avatar
Luhxy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 11:58 pm

Re: DDJ-SB3 Deck 3/4

Postby Fletcher » Sat May 25, 2019 12:49 am

Hopping into this thread since I'm also working on the mapping for the SB3, hope that's ok! I'm not new to software, but I am new to Mixxx mappings and DJing.

What I've observed: the mapping is very similar to the SB2 mapping that already exists. To get started, I just copied the SB2.js and .xml files from Mixxx into my local settings /Controllers/ folder, renamed to SB2, and find-and-replaced SB2->SB3. That got a LOT of things working! Things that definitely don't work:

  • Deck 3/4, which I guess posters up-thread are correct about re: "need to echo back the noteon from the deck button over MIDI OUT."
  • Slip on either deck (seems like it SHOULD work as far as the XML is concerned, but.. doesn't?)
  • The shift states on the FX1/FX1 "1,2,3" buttons, which look like they should influence looping? But even when I press them, they just toggle the fx units?
  • The transport controls below the pads (back-to-start, rewind, ffwd)
  • The autoloop/ in/out buttons (looks like on SB2, these were on the hotpads; SB2 has "AUTOLOOP" and "1/2" / "2x" buttons?

It's possible that some of this stuff works, but I don't know Mixxx well enough to use it? It's also possible I'm missing stuff since, as I said, I'm new here and on some level just satisfied that I can make cool vinyl scratching noises! :D

Any thoughts on how to attack this? I'm happy to hack on it but I've got a bit of a chicken/egg problem since I also mostly don't know what it's SUPPOSED to do. I feel like if I had one good example I could probably duplicate it to fix a bunch of these but I'm missing a big picture on how the Pioneer business works..

[Edit]: Attaching progress so far. This is 100% derived from the SB2 mapping, so .. no intention to rip anyone off or claim anyone else's work as mine, just sharing so that other people don't have to manually make the edits I describe to catch up with where I'm at.[/edit]
Attachments
Pioneer-DDJ-SB3-scripts.js
(44.56 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
Pioneer-DDJ-SB3-scripts.js
(44.56 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
Fletcher
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 12:28 am

Next

Return to Controller presets/mappings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests