Cannot Open Mixxx After Having Installed Jack Audio

Fixxx your Mixxx

Moderator: garth

Cannot Open Mixxx After Having Installed Jack Audio

Postby G-Power » Sat Jan 25, 2020 12:07 am

Greetings. I am new to Mixxx, even though I have decent knowledge in computerised music-making.
I recently downloaded the Mixxx program from the official Mixx download website. I ran it a few times and everything worked fine.
I then thought I could connect it to Ableton Live 10 Lite using Jack Audio, which I have targetted to my ASIO4ALL v2 driver.
Following the installation and configuration for Jack Audio, I could not open Mixxx for more than a few seconds without it shutting down again. Only the splash screen shows for a few moments and no error messages are displayed.
I tried clearing the folder "C:\Users\[Username]\AppData\Local\Mixxx", but this doesn't help. I also tried uninstalling and reinstalling the program and rebooting the computer, but all of these techniques have resulted as failures to fix the problem. Always the same result.

I am currently running an MS Windows 64bit machine.

Thank you.

G-Power
G-Power

Re: Cannot Open Mixxx After Having Installed Jack Audio

Postby RavKan » Sat Jan 25, 2020 11:04 am

I had Mixxx routed into Logic Pro connected via Jack Audio on my Mac (core audio) running Catalina yesterday. The only problem I had was not being able to have each deck in Mixxx using different outputs. Sorry, I probably didn't help your issue with Mixxx not opening on your windows machine.
RavKan

Postby G-Power » Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:54 pm

Uninstalling Jack caused Mixxx to reopen successfully without even needing a reboot.
It looks like Jack and Mixxx are not compatible on my computer. Does anyone use a combination of Jack and Mixxx on their MS Windows machine?
Maybe I misconfigured Jack, and if this is the case, I would highly appreciate if someone could help me with this. The instructions I followed were displayed on the official Jack Audio website.