Using sampler decks with only 2-deck-output

Fixxx your Mixxx

Moderator: garth

Using sampler decks with only 2-deck-output

Postby slap_infinity » Sat Nov 30, 2019 11:34 am

Hi there, how can I get the sampler tracks to be played during a set of mine?

Following setting: laptop with mixxx 2.2.2, connected to numark dj IO (2 channel pairs max), connected to any kind of external mixer. When I play my set and use the sampler decks, I can hear nothing. My output channel setup is classicly API ASIO, with channel 1-2 on deck 1 and channel 3-4 on deck 2...that's all.

I think it was discussed before, but there was a solution with like 4 channel pairs which I can't provide. Would it be an idea to set the channel pairs to left and right bus, not the decks? Hopefully there's a solution, thanks!
---------------------------------------------
DJ Horror Infinity / B-Slap
https://www.mixcloud.com/slap_infinity
slap_infinity
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 11:51 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Using sampler decks with only 2-deck-output

Postby Be. » Sat Nov 30, 2019 11:50 am

There is no good way to do this with the hardware you are using. Technically you could use the crossfader buses and assign the samplers to crossfader buses, but then the samples would be coupled to a specific deck. If Mixxx sent them to both sides, if you had both decks playing and played a sampler, then it would double the volume of the samplers.
I heard FLAC and I haven't gone back.
Protect your hearing with earplugs!

Hear my mixes
User avatar
Be.
Mixxx Developer
 
Posts: 2469
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Chicago, USA

Re: Using sampler decks with only 2-deck-output

Postby slap_infinity » Sat Nov 30, 2019 1:29 pm

Thanks, gonna try around. Thankful for any inputs on this one. I would be very happy about being able to hear the samples, nomatter which setting is in charge...kinda override, for quick dancehall-airhorn-action during a Slayer song.
---------------------------------------------
DJ Horror Infinity / B-Slap
https://www.mixcloud.com/slap_infinity
slap_infinity
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 11:51 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Using sampler decks with only 2-deck-output

Postby slap_infinity » Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:46 pm

so, the following worked out for me:
instead to deck 1 and 2, i set the channels to left and right bus respectively. i can use the decks like i would have before. when i set the samplers to the active bus, i can play them through the mixer. for me, that seems to be the way...maybe not elegant, but working.
---------------------------------------------
DJ Horror Infinity / B-Slap
https://www.mixcloud.com/slap_infinity
slap_infinity
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 11:51 pm
Location: Switzerland


Return to Troubleshooting & FAQ

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests